HEALTH AND CLIMATE CHANGE
Taking care of humankind at +2°C

HEALTH AND CLIMATE CHANGE
Taking care of humankind at +2°C

Select Page

Joseph O. PREWITT DIAZ

Practitioner scholar in Disaster Mental Health and Psychosocial Support. He currently serves as the Disaster Mental Health Advisor for the National Capitol Region, and Latino Engagement Advisor for the Mid Atlantic Division of the American Red Cross

Joseph O. Prewitt Díaz, PhD, is a psychologist that has served in the American Red Cross in the domestic and International Services as a volunteer and paid staff since 1976 to the present. He holds a post-doctorate in Organization and Systems Development, from the Gestalt Institute in Cleveland, a doctorate from the University of Connecticut, and a degree in Pastoral Counseling and Spiritual Direction.

He built his volunteer capacities in the American Red Cross from the ground up. During Hurricane Andrew, he transitioned to the Disaster Mental Health component where he has served in over 60 nationally declared disasters during immediate response and long-term recovery. Additionally, has served in over 50 humanitarian catastrophes in the Caribbean, Central and South America and South Asia (Butan, India, Indonesia, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka). He has managed multi-million-dollar recovery projects on behalf of the American Red Cross, and served as the Global Psychosocial Support Advisor.

He has authored or co-authored thirty-eight books in Spanish and English on psychosocial support and over 140 referred journal articles, in topics related to mental health and psychosocial support. His most recent book entitled Disaster Recovery: Community-Based Psychosocial Support in the Aftermath. He served as faculty member at the Pennsylvania State University, and as the Director of the Disaster Law Center, School of Law, University of Puerto Rico.
Among his many honors and awards are the 2008 APA International Humanitarian Award, for assisting in the design and preparation of international guidelines and standards, rapid responses, training of staff, program management and implementation, and monitoring of psychosocial support on behalf of the American Red Cross (ARC) in Central America, the Caribbean, and South Asia.

He is a Psychosocial Technical Expert with the IFRC Psychosocial Support Reference Center in Copenhagen, Denmark and the IFRC Americas Region integrating psychosocial support into component the Zika epidemic response, served as the Senior Instructor for a course for Leaders in Psychosocial Support in Emergencies for the IFRC in Panama, and designed the PSP component of the ZIKA response for Brazil, Paraguay and Guatemala.

Intervention during the conference:

14:00 – 16:00 Workshops : Meeting mental health and psychosocial support needs

 

Programme of Monday 15 April 2019

SPEAKERS ON THE SAME THEME

Nana WIEDEMANN

Director, IFRC Reference Centre for Psychosocial Support

Susan Clayton

Whitmore-Williams Professor of Psychology , College of Wooster

Dick Clomén

Project Manager, Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement Project on Addressing Mental Health Consequences of Armed Conflicts, Natural Disasters and other Emergencies

Dr. Fathy Flefel

Director, Palestine Red Crescent Society Psycho Social Department

Protecting your data*

SANTÉ ET CHANGEMENTS CLIMATIQUES
SOIGNER UNE HUMANITÉ A +2°C

SANTÉ ET CHANGEMENTS CLIMATIQUES
SOIGNER UNE HUMANITÉ A +2°C

Sélectionner une page

Joseph O. PREWITT DIAZ

praticien/théoricien en Santé mentale dans les situations de catastrophe et Soutien psychosocial. Il est actuellement lConseiller en santé mentale dans les situations de catastrophe pour la Région de la Capitale-Nationale (Canada), et Conseiller pour l’engagement latino-américain auprès de la Division Mid-Atlantic de la Croix-Rouge américaine.

Joseph O. Prewitt Díaz est un psychologue qui a servi à la Croix-Rouge américaine dans le cadre du service national et international, en qualité de bénévole et d’employé de 1976 jusqu’à ce jour. Il est titulaire d’un post-doctorat en Développement d’organisations et de systèmes de l’Institut Gestalt de Cleveland, d’un doctorat de l’Université du Connecticut et d’un diplôme en Conseil pastoral et direction spirituelle.

Il a forgé ses compétences de bénévole sur le terrain, au sein de la Croix-Rouge américaine. Lors de l’ouragan Andrew, il a intégré le service Santé mentale et Catastrophes, avec lequel il est intervenu dans plus de 60 événements déclarés « catastrophe nationale » pour des actions d’intervention immédiate ou de relèvement à long terme. En outre, il est intervenu suite à plus de 50 catastrophes humanitaires dans les Caraïbes, en Amérique Centrale et du Sud ainsi qu’en Asie du Sud (Bhoutan, Inde, Indonésie, Maldives, Népal, Pakistan et Sri Lanka). Il a géré des projets de relèvement de plusieurs millions de dollars pour le compte de la Croix-Rouge américaine, et il est intervenu en qualité de Conseiller international en soutien psycho-social.

Il a écrit ou co-écrit trente-huit ouvrages en espagnol et en anglais sur le soutien psychosocial et plus de 140 articles dans des revues à comité de lecture, sur des thèmes liés à la santé mentale et au soutien psychosocial. Son livre le plus récent est intitulé Disaster Recovery: Community-Based Psychosocial Support in the Aftermath (« Relèvement post-catastrophe : le soutien psychosocial issu de la communauté »). Il a fait partie du corps enseignant de l’Université de l’État de Pennsylvanie et été Directeur du Centre juridique pour les catastrophes au sein de l’École de droit de l’Université de Porto Rico.

Parmi les nombreux prix et distinctions qui lui ont été décernés, citons le Prix humanitaire international APA 2008, pour avoir aidé à la conception et à la préparation de lignes directrices et normes internationales en matière d’interventions rapides, de formation du personnel, de gestion et exécution de programmes, et pour le contrôle du soutien psychosocial réalisé pour le compte de la Croix-Rouge américaine en Amérique Centrale, dans les Caraïbes et en Asie du Sud.

Il est Expert technique psychosocial auprès du Centre de référence pour le soutien psychosocial de la FICR à Copenhague au Danemark, et pour la région Amériques de la FICR, intégrant le soutien psychosocial dans les interventions ciblant l’épidémie due au virus Zika. Il a également été Instructeur senior dans une formation destinée aux Leaders en soutien psychosocial dans les situations d’urgence pour la FICR au Panama, et a conçu la composante PSP de la réponse à l’épidémie de Zika pour le Brésil, le Paraguay et le Guatemala.

Intervention durant la conférence:

14:00 – 16:00 Sessions thématiques : Répondre aux besoins en santé mentale et soutien psychosocial
 

Programme du lundi 15 avril 2019

INTERVENANTS SUR LE MÊME THÈME

Nana WIEDEMANN

Directrice, Centre de référence pour le soutien psychosocial de la FICR

Susan Clayton

Professeur de psychologie Whitmore-Williams , Université de Wooster

Dick Clomén

Chef de projet, Projet du mouvement de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge sur le traitement des conséquences en matière de santé mentale des conflits armés, catastrophes naturelles et autres situations d’urgence

Dr. Fathy Flefel

Directrice, Croix-Rouge palestinienne

Protection de vos données*